Qualifying for the unseeded riders invited to compete in the Freelance Installations NORA British Upright Championship will commence next month with two elimination rounds taking place at the Smallbrook Stadium in Ryde with the first round on 30th June and the second on 21st July.

Every one of the sixteen riders shown below will be hoping to join the eight seeded riders in the Grand Final on 11th August and to do that the group of sixteen have been split equally with each rider contesting one of the two rounds then aiming for a top four place and progression to the Grand Final with a chance to take a British title.

The riders taking part (in alphabetical order) are:

30th June

Mark Anderson
Shaun Bickley
Nigel Coates
Steve Cook
Keith Cornell
Glyn Edwards
Dave Johnson
Jamie Sealey

21st July

Alex Chadd
Giles Dismore
Dave Hammond
Graham Knowler
Chris Mackett
Roy Miller
Wayne Parker
Ben Phillips

The Upright Championship qualifying rounds will form part of a busy night of action as their races dovetail into Rounds 1 and 2 of the Island Masters series where the cream of the grasstrack community have an opportunity to show their skills on the Wightlink Warriors circuit.

The Warriors are now busy preparing for the start of their summer season of weekly track activity which begins on 23rd June with the three-team tournament featuring Cradley and Weymouth as well as Development League action between the Wightlink Wizards and the newly formed Wightlink Warlocks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *